Of Enchantments and Magic – A Conversation with Author Lisa (Part 1)

What would you do if you dreamed of a fantastic experience where you’re given the power to control the five elements? Laugh it off? Talk about “crazy dream” with your friends? Try and quickly forget it as soon you can? Well, you’ll surprised to see what Lisa did when she had such a dream – she wrote a brilliant book, The Elemental (Part 1 of the Fire Trilogy) about such a phenomenon, beading her dream into that. Her love for coffee and coffee places (she has a section on her site dedicated to her fave coffee hangout!) is a sure positive when it comes to being adored by the Roasted Coffee Bean. But I have to admit that our similarities stop at the coffee addiction, as her writing is out-of-the-world, something that the RCB can never aspire to have! 🙂 Although her website speaks heaps of what you can expect when you speak to her, it didn’t prepare me well enough for the absolutely great experience I was bound to get when chatting with her – she is spontaneous, easy on comments, tolerant on questions and very witty with her responses. She must have made the clock feel jealous of the time she was spending on talking to me, because barely did I feel we had started, when the time for the first part interview was up! Here are the excerpts of our first-part chat…


 

R C Bean

Exactly a year ago, on this date, did you know that you’d have published this book, and that you’d have got such good reviews for it as well?

Lisa

One year ago? No, I was determined to publish it, but I just couldn’t imagine what it would be like.


R C Bean

I can imagine you must have been anxious and nervous… how would you describe the ebb and flow of your emotions in these months leading up to the book publication in Jan this year? 

Lisa

Oh my, it was a whole new experience. I went from “this is the best thing ever” to “what the hell was I thinking!” Most of all though, it felt like coming home. It took me a long time to realize this is what I should be doing with my life. That feeling, that’s just magical.


R C Bean

Magical! – It’s interesting the way you describe the phase as magical. I’d have expected something on the lines of “nightmarish…” But given that you chose such a fascinating theme for The Fire Trilogy, that must be one of your favourite adjectives, I presume? 🙂

Lisa

Hahaha, yes, I suppose it is 😉 People today often don’t realize magic is all around us and in every one of us.


R C Bean

🙂 I can’t agree more… It’s not always Catherine-style earth-moving magic that one needs to be blessed with… A simple make-another-person-smile magic suffices at times too…

[For the benefit of some readers, Catherine is the female protagonist of Lisa’s book, The Elemental, mentioned in her bio above]

Lisa

Exactly. And just think of a mother or father who see their child fall and hurt something. They hold their hands over it or kiss it and the pain goes away. That’s magic 🙂


R C Bean

That was a beautiful analogy!

Lisa

Thank you 🙂


R C Bean

And that brings me to one question I’ve been dying to ask you… Given the abundance of simple magic that’s all around, what drew you to write on such magnitude and magnificence? Let me clarify right here that I love to read magic in such grandeur no doubts… The question comes more out of curiosity…

Lisa

🙂 Well, first of all, are Catherine’s powers really that unthinkable? Okay, The Elemental is fiction, so it is dramatized, but our body is mostly water, we walk on the earth, we get feverish, we get cold, we need air to breath. We are made of the elements. Our star signs are divided into four elements. Is it really such a stretch to imagine there are people out there who still have a connection to what is nature, not nurture? I guess I’m trying to expand the human imagination, to keep an open mind.


 R C Bean

Absolutely… And I have to say here that even the expansion is something that comes as a natural step ahead to look forward to…

With Catherine being able to control the elements, it’s hard to stop oneself from wishing and hoping for such a day when that could indeed happen…

Lisa

It always fascinated me that there is a theory amongst some scientists that the ancient Egyptians could use 4% more of their brain than we can now. If, and I’m saying if, that is true, it might explain how they were able to build the pyramids.


 R C Bean

🙂 And I do remember a particular review on your book in Goodreads, where the reviewer had highlighted on how he liked the concept of the weather being sunny when Catherine is happy…

Lisa

Hmmm yes, I know that review 😉


 R C Bean

We can also probably have such things extended beyond the brains and the body I guess… Like the beliefs of how positive vibes from a person pull others towards him or her… Or how someone happy may experience a day of small delights throughout the day – great tasting coffee (would be my idea of heaven), great song on the radio, getting a green on all traffic lights through the day…

I’d say your idea of weaving the elements, not just as merely controlled factors, but as indicators was brilliant, too!

Lisa

Thank you. I just thought about action and reaction, really. Everything need balance in life. What we do, causes a ripple effect. I think this is what Catherine finds so terrifying about her own powers. What if the sun came out because of her mood? Is she denying sunshine somewhere else? That’s why she is a control freak and afraid to let go.


 R C Bean

Hmm… I get it…

Afraid that if she let go, the repercussions could be shattering…?

Lisa

Shattering, mind blowing, mass destruction. Yes. It’s a cliché, but with great power, comes great responsibility and she’s always very aware of that.


 R C Bean

But given the fact that Catherine also has tendencies of a person we would see next door – being impulsive, temperamental, sometimes exuberant, and sometimes touchy, how did you visualise dealing with the contradictions that these traits could pose when you are sculpting a character of such power?

Lisa

The magic, pun intended, lies in intent. Her intent is never to do harm, but to heal. So even if she is impulsive or angry, it is her intent to do good. That makes her mostly harmless. I say mostly, because even Catherine is only human. None of us are perfect. There are no perfect people, only perfect intentions, like my own grandmother used to say to me.

 R C Bean

Only perfect intentions… that sounded so poetic…

Lisa

Well, she wrote a lot of poems, my grandmother 🙂


 R C Bean

Oh, awesome! I’d love to read them all, no doubt… The one line that you dropped has gripped me that much!

Lisa

She was a formidable woman. 


R C Bean

And moreover, her grand-daughter is so talented at writing… Her inspiration and streaks are sure to have struck you, then?

Lisa

She certainly was my first inspiration. As a child I used to sit on the table in front of her and she would write letters on my back. I had to ‘feel’ what she was writing. Often it was some animal or something out of a fairy-tale. It heightened my sense to feel and the written word fascinated me. So yes, she was a big motivator.


R C Bean

And her line about intentions keep haunting me…!

Could intentions change when one finds oneself in a situation similar to Catherine’s? Like could Lisa change being who she is, or what she intends to do tomorrow, if wakes up with the powers that Catherine has?

Lisa

I honestly don’t think I could be trusted with Catherine’s powers. Yes, I think intentions can change. It is a fine line to cross over from protecting the innocent to punishing the guilty.


 R C Bean

Yeah, I’d guess it would be overwhelming…

Lisa

I think most of us set out to do good. But it takes a very strong person to not harm someone if you know he or she’s responsible for destroying the life of a loved one with those kind of powers


R C Bean

Because I’m finding the chat so gripping, I’d love to keep talking and talking…!

:-/ But I know the time you gave me is up, so I’ll save the rest for part 2, then? 

Lisa

Hahaha, well, you ask some very interesting questions! And I’m looking forward to part 2 of our chat!


 

 

Continued here
11 comments

  1. The author and R C Bean together make for enlightened reading. I would in the normal course of my humdrum life never have even known of ” The Elemental”, but thanks to R C Bean, I am now looking forward to reading this book now. Thank you both !!!

  2. Lisa, as the author of what I may call a magical book, with a lot of thoughts which are ancient and true, like good intent brings good results and the magic of your protagonist Catherine being able to control “The Elemental” with her moods ( sun shines when she is happy), I think the book is going to be a humongous success, for all people who love magical realities, and that means EVERYONE! An extremely well written interview/review with much research done, Roasted Coffee Bean has done it again! More power to your pen, both, RCB and Lisa!

Leave a Reply

