Scent of a Woman – My favorite scenes – One

I would certainly consider those who haven’t watched Scent of a Woman a shade poorer than me. Be it the cinematic brilliance of the scene, the breath-taking character delivery by Al Pacino, commendable acting by every single actor in the room, or the restrained but impressive back-ground score, the film is a real treasure all the way.

The final university assembly hall sequence, given below, is a not-to-be-missed treat.

I could manage to find a partial transcript of the scene’s dialogues, thanks to the optimist from utopia. Displayed here is what I found.

Mr. Trask: I am gonna recommend to the disco that you be expelled Mr. Sims. You are a cover up artist and a liar.
Al Pacino: But not a snitch.
Mr. Trask: Excuse me.
Al Pacino: No I dont think I will. This is such a crock of shit!!
Mr. Trask: Plz watch your language. You are in the baird school not in the barracks

Al Pacino: What is your motto here? Boys, inform on your classmates.. save your hide. Anything short of that and we are gonna burn you at the stake. Well.. gentlemen.. When the shit hits the fan, some guys run and some guys stay. Heres Charlie facing the fire and theres George hiding in big daddy’s pocket. And what are you doing? You’re gonna reward George and destroy Charlie..

Al Pacino: Out of order, I show you out of order. You don’t know what out of order is, Mr. Trask. I’d show you, but I’m too old, I’m too tired, I’m too fuckin’ blind. If I were the man I was five years ago, I’d take a flamethrower to this place! Out of order? Who the hell do you think you’re talkin’ to? I’ve been around, you know? There was a time I could see. And I have seen. Boys like these, younger than these, their arms torn out, their legs ripped off. But there isn’t nothin’ like the sight of an amputated spirit. There is no prosthetic for that. You think you’re merely sending this splendid foot soldier back home to Oregon with his tail between his legs, but I say you are… executin’ his SOUL!! And why? Because he’s not a Bairdman. Bairdmen. You hurt this boy, you’re gonna be Baird bums, the lot of ya.

Al Pacino: I dunno if Charlie’s silence here is right or wrong.. I am not a judge or jury. But I can tell you this. he wont sell anybody else to buy his future. And that my friends is called integrity.. thats called courage.. Now thats the stuff leaders shud be made of. Now I’ve come to the crossroads in my life. I always knew what the right path was.. without exception I always knew.. but i never took it.. because it was too damn hard. Now heres charlie.. he has come to crossroads.. He has chosen a path.. its the right path.. a path made of principle. Let him continue on his journey.. His future is in your hands committee.. Its a valuable future.. believe me.. dont destroy it.. protect it.. embrace it.. Its gonna make you proud one day. I promise you..

4 comments

Leave a Reply

