The mountain and I…

I smile at the mountain,
I say I want to give life a try…
“Not a hope,” says the mountain…
“From where you stand,
life is high up there,
mighty high…”
‘Am told!
I flatly deny…
“High is not beyond how much I can reach,
far is not beyond how much I can leap,
deep is not beyond how much I can see…
Just because ‘am flooded with bouts of skepticism and negativity,
I needn’t take yours as well,”
I tell the mountain…
“However unlikely it may seem,
my negativity serves to propel me forward,
while yours would push me down from an abyss…”
Clouds stop to listen…
Birds fly by…
We look solemnly at each other,
the mountain and I!
“Though you may hear me holler,
and I may let you see me cry,
you’re terribly mistaken if even for a second u think
I’ll let you see me crumble and die…”
I brandish my finger at the mountain…
“I’ve made it this far…
I can surely live on…
For being an example
and for succeeding I was born…”

4 comments

  1. Nice one! I could connect to these thoughts.
    In the sentence – “my negativity serves to propel me forward” – Two points about this self criticism,

    First one being of holding oneself to high standards and hence a sort of self censuring.
    Second being the so called “negativity” is doing a lot of good in being able to achieve/progress. Which means it was not “negativity” in the first place?! The word “War” could have a negative connotation – but then there were wars for a good purpose, eg: the Ramayana and Mahabharata. Did I make sense?

    1. It depends on whose viewpoint you’re looking at it from… As they say, every war has had its casualties, and the kith and kin of those who perished in the war, even if they had been from the good side (Rama’s side from Ramayana for instance), would have had some residues of bitterness, right?

  2. A brave poet lives in these lines; a strong fighter; success belongs to those who do not accept what is doled out to them, but resist, fight and turn things around to what they want out of life. I loved these lines therefore. “High is not beyond how much I can reach,
    far is not beyond how much I can leap,
    deep is not beyond how much I can see…

Leave a Reply

