What matters…

Will yesterday matter tomorrow?
Yes, it will…
What I sculpted yesterday,
Shows the world who I am today…
What I gave yesterday,
I get back today…

Will yesterday matter tomorrow?
Well it might…
If only I know what leads to what…
Shocked and surprised
at the unbelievable consequences of things so uncertain…
With questions like “Can anything be undone? Can everything be undone?”
Living a life in which “if” and “only” rule…
If only something done had been neglected,
If only something neglected had been done…

Will yesterday matter tomorrow?
Nay it will not…
Will morning matter at the end of the day?

Why can’t this be easy?
Why can’t there be signs to point me the right way?
Why do all the signs point me back to where I started everyday?
Understanding myself, seems harder in a way,
trying to find out
if yesterday will indeed matter…
Yet, in heart of hearts
I get thrilled at asking myself this every now and then…
Secretly relishing this uncertainty…
Looking forward to asking myself what matters…
Now, later, and at the end of the day…

6 comments

  1. A good subject to have written on. I feel it matters even if one wants it the otherwise. To make it not matter is ideal and would need tremendous inner strength – maybe humanely not possible.

    1. I fully agree… to make it not matter is very idealistic… but the mind never stops wishing for what’s ideal…

    1. Hmmm… Good point, but I don’t think that the mind would stop wishing when fantasy merges into reality… In fact it would reinforce the hopes of the mind and it will go on wishing – probably for more utopian stuff!

  2. Why do all the signs point me back to where I started everyday? – Unfinished business?

    I have reached the end of your verse and I know, that in a blog, it is already published poems. For as long as the flavour of coffee is in the taste buds of the reader. Thanks for a wonderful coffee break. It was hot, steaming and flavoured in the exact way I like it, with lots of ‘bean’ in it, food for thought and a compelling desire for more.

    Have a great Cofeebean day! I mean, I will have one, thank you 🙂

Leave a Reply

