I’ll survive…

I’m terribly scared to begin with…
Fa(u)ltering at every step…
I’m terrified…
Facing skepticism…
and superficial words of hope…
words that are uttered to be listened to…
words that’d make the utterer’s eyes
round up in disbelieving wonder
if at all they come true…
I keep thinking I’d never make it through this…
Spend too many insomnious hours…
My eyes deceive me at times…
I stumble badly…
I wait for someone to pull me up
waiting in vain…
what a waiting!
Takes me all my strength not to fall apart…
Now I know
I’ll make it through this…
My heart and my soul
can stand this test
So now, ye world,
Go on, walk out through the door…
You aren’t scary anymore…
You cannot daunt me…
You think I’d crumble if and when there’s a goodbye
You think I’d lay my being down to die…
Never, not I…
I’ve got all my life to live
I’ve got all my love to give…
I’ll show you and
I’ll survive…

2 comments

  1. Fantastic! What I say is this: Before you came, there was only me; after you go, there will remain only me. In between is a drama played out by both of us, but please get on, on your way. Don’t stop because you see me cry; I will survive. I still have me!

    Now how selfish can that be? Your take on this?

Leave a Reply

