Morning and pondering…

Time to wake up!
I don’t want to be left behind…
Or, do I?
Do I prefer this slumber?
Or do I rather hunt
for blue-edged diamonds?
I lie still,
savouring this moment,
of the deep silence within
and the dry uproar without.
My mind rumbles,
wanting me
to be part of the clamour…
My soul whispers
that I find bliss
in this state of pure quietude.
“Wait for me!”
I cry out aloud,
hoping my feeble shriek
would somehow pierce
the cluttered din
of the maddened pursuits
and frenzied treads of
the so-called “ambitious”!
Once again my soul tells me…
This time in a howl…
to give up even trying
to catch up with them
“You’re made for relishing
what life gives you…
not greedily grabbing at
what it doesn’t”
‘am told…
The battle goes on…
Do I listen to my soul,
sit still, enjoying the sight
of the road-side roses being kissed by the wind?
Or would I rather
not take my eyes off the final goal…
crossing milestone after milestone of emptiness…
praying and hoping
to be acknowledged about the “milestone” success
to be praised for the hollow triumph…
My mind says I choose the milestone-scouring business…
and not be left behind…
My soul sings that I lie still…
The word blends into the song
And I dissolve into the music…

4 comments

  1. Thinking about this, reminded me of the ZNMD poetry by Javed akhtar. In particular the below lines:

    Dilon me tum apni betabiyan leke chal rahe ho,to zinda ho tum
    Nazar me khwaabon ki bijliyan leke chal rahe ho,to zinda ho tum

Leave a Reply

